REVIEWS

 

                                          “Jocelyn & Tyler - Feb 2015”
 

We spent a week at Off The Reef and absolutely loved it. The home was all we would have needed, included all the beach goer stuff including umbrellas, cooler, towels and snorkel gear. We found it quite easy to get around to various places and beaches in the different settlement and found the house to be nice and central making everything as accessible as possible. There was nothing that we needed and didn't have in the house and the private beach and cabana was fantastic and relaxing. I also found the most seaglass right in from of the stairs to the beach! I would recommend this is any couple who are looking for a relaxing adventure!

 

                Unpretentious slice of Paradise

                                                                    

 

Off the Reef was exactly what I had hoped: Clean, comfortable, casual, and a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. My wife and I spent our 20th anniversary here and LOVED it. We spent the first two days just walking the beach, snorkeling and swinging in the hammock. The grounds at OTR are beautiful. So is the beach. We saw very few other people on it the entire week. Most romantic. We prefer cooking to eating out and the kitchen was well-stocked. So was the "fun stuff" closet once we started to feel adventurous. Snorkeling gear, lots of good towels, binoculars, bicycles, etc. The only word of caution I would offer prospective renters is to let you know that the infrastructure on Eluthera is 3rd world. The internet goes out sometimes, as does the TV. There are few street signs. The water went out when we were there but the property mgr came out and switched us to cistern within hours. No problemo. If you can deal with these little inconveniences I highly recommend OTR. To me it's all part of the relaxing charm of Eluthera.

  • Stayed: October 2014

  • Submitted: October 28, 2014

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

 

 

                                           

                       Beautiful, location with a lot of                                          Eleuthera Charm

 

Off the Reef is a nice little cottage right on the beach. It's less than 30 seconds walk from the door to the water. It's a nice place to watch the sun rise and spend time relaxing. We couldn't believe the stars at night. There is so little light around the island, that the skies were incredible. Please spend some time on the hammock stargazing! The house itself is very nice and clean. It is very well organized and has everything you'll need. I'd recommend stopping by the grocery store on your way and stocking up on snacks and the basics. They have provided many things for the guests to use such as snorkeling gear (I think there are 3 or 4 decent sets of gear), some fishing gear, boards and beach towels. The caretaker is very nice and helpful, and was available when I contacted him after the water went out, which happens occasionally on the island of Eleuthera. He came up to the house and helped get water from the cistern to use for washing, etc. It was very nice to not have to worry about anything. The time was spent enjoying many parts of the island. Many thanks to the owners of Off the Reef! Wonderful home!

  • Stayed: May 2014

  • Submitted: May 27, 2014.

 

 

                           Eleuthera isn't for everyone...

                           but it is for US!

 

It took way too long for me to review this property! First of all, please do not go to Eleuthera if you are seeking luxury and convenience. You won't find it. Part of the beauty of this place is that it is AUTHENTICALLY BAHAMIAN! Sometimes the town water goes out (happened one morning while we were there and we just waiting till it was back on that afternoon to shower), sometimes the cable goes out (generally bootlegged from the US anyway). Sometimes things break that are out of the owner's control (like the fridge freezing up when we were there-no big deal, we just used the cooler for day or so till the maintenance guy came by and fixed it). You are in paradise people! We went to a different secluded beach everyday! My only regret was that February is a rough month on the Atlantic side-and that happens to be where the best snorkeling is. Don't get me wrong, we snorkeled on the Caribbean side and it was calm and crystal clear, but not near the abundance of sea life that we would have seen behind this house on the Atlantic side! If you are renting this house, maybe do it in some other month if you are planning to spend most of your time snorkeling and fishing/spearfishing. The mornings and evenings were a little too cool and windy during that time of year, though the views are amazing. I would love to go back to Off the Reef in a different month. Property was just as advertised. Must sees/eats: -Jack's Bay beach-you'll be alone -Lighthouse Beach, Get a jeep -Island Farm (fresh bread certain says, be there before they open!) -Rose at Northside Inn & Restaurant, Rock Sound (good 

prices, good conversation, great view) -Tippy's for drinks and a good band -Bucaneer Club in GH, reasonably priced and good authentic food (roaming chickens too!) -French Leave Beach-Go to the Beach House bar for drinks -Sammy's Place-Rock Sound-good food -GH Fish Fry Notes: -bring an international GPS and a book of beaches with coordinates -bring an underwater camera -take your snorkel gear, cooler of drinks, bug spray (DEET-spray it on you every morning before you go outside), swimsuits, and suntan lotion EVERYWHERE with you! Just in case! -get your alcohol and groceries when/where you can--everythings closed on sundays except SOME restaurants/bars We didnt get up to the Northern end of the island, but we will in Dec. when we're staying up that way! We are going to pack a suitcase with non-perishable food and a cooler bag with frozen meat this time. Enjoy! Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2014

  • Submitted: October 29, 2014

 

 

Perfect for two,again!

 

My wife & I spent 19 days at Off the Reef for our second year in a row. The house was better than the year before if that's possible. It's in a perfect location, has great views & everything you need to have a great secluded time. Saw numerous cruise ships during both the day & night. We highly recommend Off the Reef for two people.

  • Stayed: February 2013

  • Submitted: March 23, 2013

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

 

 

© 2014 by Off The Reef. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Wix Facebook page